CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

A VERY LITTLE LITTLE TERN

I went to see how the Little Terns are doing in their protected part of Seaton Carew beach and was delighted to spot (with enormous difficulty) a few chicks. One of the wardens told me that there are currently over 70 nests with more adults still arriving and pairing up. He said that some of the pairs have three chicks when the normal number is two, so it looks as though it's going to be a very successful season, weather and predators permitting. I noticed that the chicks came out to stretch their wings and then very quickly went back in under whichever parent was on duty to keep warm which is hardly surprising when most of the humans in Hartlepool were wearing warm jackets and woolly hats against the chilly easterly breeze.

I've caught up with all my holiday backblips now (starting from Django on Holiday) so hope to start catching up with everyone else's blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.