Delayed Gratification

Our upstairs guest bedroom and the office get way too hot for comfort in the summer, so we bought a portable air conditioner, which arrived today.

I resisted the urge to just plug it in and turn it on, and started reading the instructions. I'm glad I did -- there's a strong warning to wait at least six hours after the unit has been delivered before using it. Apparently the oil can drain from the compressor if it's been turned upside down, or on it's side, and it takes that long for the oil to return to its rightful place.

Who knows what happens to packages when they're shipped by UPS? They do a pretty good job of denting them, and this was no exception -- the box had a large dent on one side. There was no damage to the air conditioner -- it was extremely well packaged.

Tomorrow things should be cooler here, perhaps outside as well as inside -- remember how I made it rain for days when I bought the patio furniture?

The grandchildren are staying with us next week. I'm sure they'll appreciate this new appliance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.