analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

A Magnetic Eclipse. Leica/Lumix Macro-Elmarit 45mm

My Blip from a few days ago of the Eclipse #36 Honing Guide reminded me of another little Eclipse treasure I have in my desk drawer.  Of course, there's a story attached...
Back in 1967 1968, my eldest brother, 8 years my senior, bought himself a little red magnet from the hardware store.  I, all of 8 years old, fell in love with the red crackle paint, and spent more time with the magnet than my brother.  That's what baby brothers do: they're pestiferous!  For the winter vacation in South Africa that year, our family went to Pretoria, and stayed in the apartment of my cousin and his wife, Crispin25's older brother.  Downstairs, or maybe on the same block in the city, was a hardware store which also carried the little red Eclipse magnets.  By this time, my brother was fed up with having me play with his magnet, so he went and bought a new one - and gave me the old.  I think that I treated this magnet as a good luck talisman, and carried it everywhere in my pocket for years.  And so the crackle finish is worn away, and the corners nicely rounded.  But here it is, 57 years later.
I used the Leitz Elmar-V 65mm lens with the Leitz Bellows II to photograph the Eclipse logo on the little bar of the magnet.  It's about 12x magnified in the image.  The Macro-Elmarit caught every detail of the magnet's patina.  BTW, Eclipse still makes magnets,, and they're every bit as red as they were back in 1967.  Here's  the link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.