ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)

I had been planning on blipping about Kendal Pride, which had been taking place this weekend but, by the time I got down to Abbot Hall, I was just in time to see the last van being loaded! A bit surprised as it was only 3pm but it seems it was always scheduled to finish around then.
I really can’t judge whether or not it was a success. I wasn’t here on Friday, Saturday was wet all day and it was all over by lunchtime today! Apart from a few posters and displays in shop windows, I could easily have missed that it was on at all. I hope that it was just a case of me missing what was going on rather than apathy or lack of support on the part of the general public. Kendal is a very conservative (small C), provincial market town and it is only in the last few years that some quite old fashioned attitudes have been - rightly - challenged.
Instead I took a picture of the “Peace Pole” that stands in the Abbot Hall Peace Garden. The garden is to commemorate the First World War and the pole was unveiled on the 70th anniversary of VE Day in 2015.
Sadly, it seems unlikely that the message inscribed on it will come to pass any time soon. If someone’s lifestyle, religion or political views are different to yours, that should be something to be accepted or discussed, not used as a basis for hate or war.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.