Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Reunion

(17/6/24)

YAY, it's the weekend! I had a leisurely start to the day, not emerging from my room until nearly 10 AM! There is nothing planned over this holiday. I had wanted to do a drive to RAK, but new noises coming from the front suspension have made me change my mind.

So, I tackled last week's ironing, which is sadly not going to magically disappear. It took three sessions and there is still some left. That's summer in a hot country - more frequent changes.

We met up with Stevie and Diane to watch the ABBA Reunion show on the QE2. Entering the theatre and seeing the branding on the screen, it feels like this group has been put together by the record label and sent out to keep ABBA's music alive! (I have yet to verify this hunch).

We didn't have the seats which I chose when buying the tickets, but the evening itself was fantastic, with both S&D thoroughly enjoying the show and music. It is timeless! It was good to have a drink in the Golden Lion after the show. It allowed us to talk about the place that music holds in our lives, from our childhood up to now.

We were home after midnight, too late and too tired to think about going through my pictures to pick one to blip. The one I have chosen is the last song they sang - Waterloo - also marking the 50th anniversary of the year that ABBA won the Eurovision Song Contest.

My extra is of the Trooping of the Colour which we got to watch courtesy of BBC World.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.