PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Strawberry Planter

Last (wet) summer, strawberries appeared and rotted under long grass. So this year we tried to create a safe haven for them. We planted them in layered pots so that the flowers and early fruit were held off the ground. Most continued to develop and the swelling fruits are now ripening. It won't be a massive quantity, but it's looking promising. Early raspberries are appearing, too, though fewer than last year, I think. 

Earlier today we drove to an industrial estate in Sleaford to visit a dance-shoe shop. It was the most amazing place, with a very, very helpful assistant. She went to no end of trouble to collect styles and sizes for me to try. I wanted a heel, but not a high or narrow one. And I wanted something that I could wear with skirts now the weather's warming up. My chunky dance shoes that I've had for years are still going strong, complete with the turning circle on the soles, but they look best with trousers. I came away with two new pairs and might try one or both out tomorrow at the dance class. Hope to wear one pair to the social on Saturday night. (It will be the first I've been to up here with a live artist providing the music.)

Our plans for gardening were scuppered, but it was a satisfying shopping expedition. We stopped off in Grantham on the way home where we bought a clock for the garden. So at least we'll know how long we've been out there on our productive gardening days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.