Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

Plant rescue

I love Primula vialii ! I’ve never successfully grown them though. When we were at the Beetham nursery there were some large plants in very dried up condition going half price. I wouldn’t normally risk it, but these looked like they had some hope so I bought two plants. After a good soak I unpotted them and divided them into five good plants to go in my shady Meconopsis border.
Well, I was watering them today as it’s becoming quite warm and I noticed to my amazement two flower spikes growing out of one! I vaguely thought they flowered in spring and that was why they were remaindered, but having looked it up, they flower early summer.
What a treat!
Also nearby I noticed a new foxglove in flower too. It’s possibly one I grew from seed, and rather fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.