Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Lurgashall

It is great that we finally have summer, it sure took it's time in coming but today was sunny and bright and definitely a 'summer frock' kind of day!

I went and got groceries this morning and did some ironing before setting out for Lurgashall, where I was meeting some friends to celebrate K's birthday. Its about a 45 minute drive from our house and I gave myself an hour to get there, thinking that I would even have time to stop and photograph the beautiful Surrey and West Sussex countryside en route. That didn't happen.

The journey was a nightmare due to roadworks on the A3 so I was diverted through Godalming, and my journey took nearly and hour and a half. I arrived late and everyone was wondering where I was. We had a lovely lunch, poached salmon and salad and discussed everything from our children, the failed NHS system and the upcoming election. One of the woman present is a doctor and she decided to go to New Zealand during the Covid pandemic to work there (she was allowed in despite their draconian lock down as she is a doctor). She told us that their public health system is very much the same as the NHS, with the same problems so it seems we are not the only ones struggling with the inefficiencies of a health care system. She returned to the UK and chose not to work in the NHS again, like so many other doctors we know.

This old Dodge was parked outside this house, and I thought the juxtaposition of an old American car outside a quintessentially English country house had to be photographed. Extra I took with the camera balancing on another garden table set on self timer. The journey home was better, just over an hour.

Tonight Adam and Anna are coming home, as tomorrow morning they are going to Heathrow to fly to the USA. Anna has not seen her family for a while and Adam is going home with her :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.