Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

FIVE FEET FOR FUN FRIDAY!

I was wondering, what I could do for today because I wanted to remember dear Admirer, who died suddenly on this day in 2020.  We all know how much she like to giggle and laugh at the different Blips she saw on silly Saturday so it had to be something in that vein.

Mr HCB and I went out to a garden centre this morning – the same one where we spent lots of money a few months ago – and indeed we spent a fair bit in there today! Mr HCB‘s plan was to make straight for the "Sale or Half Price" table and we weren’t disappointed.

In fact, he had only trundled over with a small trolley but we had to transfer the plants – lots of them – onto a bigger trolley. Mind you that had its advantages because a lady walking along behind us with her husband asked if we were finished with the smaller trolley because they wanted one and couldn’t find one. Then ensued a lovely conversation with them, with the man making a joke and asking if I had heard of a “Sous” Chef and when I said I had, he then told me that he was the “Sous” Gardener  as he did as he was told to do in the garden by his wife!  I love these little conversations that we have from time to time with people we don’t know and probably will never see again – but they are often very uplifting.

Of course we stopped to have a coffee and as I went in to join the queue I saw two young ladies with their mother and grandmother - as I found out later - who were pulling their trousers up and showing their legs – not too far I hasten to add, but to just below !

On the lookout for a Blip for today, I thought this would be great and would make Admirer giggle, so I explained to them about Blip – as you do, or as I often do – and asked if I could take a photograph of their feet.  I’m sure you can guess which is my foot and which is their grandma's?

I explained it was Flower Friday but that I wanted something “fun” for today and we decided that Five Feet for Fun Friday would be a good title - so this is my tribute to dear Admirer - she would probably giggle thinking about me asking four random people to all put their feet pointing inwards so that I could take a photograph! ;-)

We wandered around a bit more and as you know garden centres no longer just sell garden plants or implements but all manner of things.

We went into the Paver Shoe store and we both saw some shoes we liked.  The ones Mr. HCB liked didn't fit right, and I wanted to know if there was a different colour to the ones I was trying on, so spoke to an assistant called Debbie.   I mentioned that we were going to our friend's baptism on Sunday and we then talked about how things have changed so that'd we don't always wear "best" clothes to church, so she asked where it was taking place.  I told her that it was at Gorse Hill Baptist Church and she said she had been at Upper Stratton Baptist Church yesterday for a funeral.

How absolutely random is this – I had been talking to our Moderator last evening, the retired Minister who has been overseeing our church during the interregnum, and he told me he had been conducting a funeral in the afternoon, after I told him how smart he looked in his blue linen suit and yellow and blue tie. He said the request had been NOT to wear dark colours so that was what he wore to take the service!

Would you believe that Debbie had been to that very same funeral – and the garden centre is about 12 miles from Swindon – so what are the chances of meeting someone like that?

Then mid afternoon, we welcomed our lovely Blip friend, Heidi, whom we haven't seen for sometime.  She had been camping in Alfie, her motorhome, for the last few days and had asked if she could pop in and see us, and of course, we were delighted to see her and of course, never stopped talking - well we did have a lot to catch up on!  Mr. HCB took himself off partway through the afternoon to go and watch cricket, England v. South Africa, and catching up on his chatting with our son in Vietnam.   Before Heidi left, we had to take a selfie and the extra shows us all!

We have a busy weekend ahead, but I am confident that all will be well and of course, I'm sure there will be plenty of material for my Blips!

Take care and have a great weekend whatever you are doing.  M xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.