ZE1Christie

By ZE1Christie

Men's Roond Trondra Race

A fine day, still quite cloudy, but warm sunny spells, low cloud on a few hills, and a warmer breeze tonight.  

Up at 5am, early shift in the airport.  A day working on the check-in desk, and a busy day of passengers.  All flights in and out on time.  A quiet evening at home, walkies with Sammy, then early to bed. 

Before I headed out, I noticed a lot of folk milling about the harbour, thought nothing of it.  As I came down by the pier, then it struck me, the annual 'Round Trondra Race'.  Local men's teams competing in a rowing race, in a traditional Shetland yoal (women race last night).  It took them just over an hour to row around the isle, not sure who won.  This was the last three coming in, Trondra, Nesting and then Lerwick up front.  A lot of stamina needed, something I'd like to work towards doing.  Taken from Blacksness pier, Scalloway.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.