Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Colourful characters

It was a day of several halves. We began by saying goodbye to T and A who were going up to London and then staying overnight before heading off on the Eurostar for their continental adventure tomorrow. We will be seeing them again in a few weeks time when they come back for a couple of nights before returning to Australia.

We then went to a bathroom showroom near Guildford to finalise the fittings for our new ensuite. Despite the fact that the bathroom is the size of a larder cupboard this was surprisingly complicated once you got into the matter of colours designs and types of fittings. But then nothing is simple in this modern world of ours. When I was young you simply had a mate of your brothers cousin who would come round and install an avocado bathroom suite that had fallen off the back of a lorry in South London. That tells you a lot about my upbringing.

We then had coffee in Guildford and bought lots of baking ingredients in Waitrose as the girl racer had expressed a desire to make a cake. This she did when we got home and I have to say it was bloody marvellous. A carrot cake par excellence.

Against my better judgement I was dragged into a game of Harry Potter Cluedo in the afternoon. This board game is a variation on standard Cluedo and has house points, which if you lose them means you are eliminated from the game, and moving rooms which have doors which mysteriously lock as you turn a wheel. I have to say this is quite a clever feature. 

Naturally, I lost. Naturally TSM won. And of course the girl racer made a convincing case as to why she only lost on a technicality and should've been declared the real winner. For my part I chose to use it as a chance for some amateur dramatics and began  impersonating various characters and situations along the way.

I also did battle with a colourful umbrella which I was trying to use to shield myself from the Sun but which blew out of my hands and engulfed me at one point as you can see from the photograph. I may have looked ridiculous, but at least it was a full on pride coloured version of ridiculous.

We had Chinese takeaway with The Dizzle and Ms R in the evening and sat in the garden until sundown, chewing the fat and looking at old photographs whilst Henry the cat explored the garden and all it has to offer.

Very good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.