KateH

By KateH

Ramblin’

I have to record somewhere the scale and beauty of the rambling rose this year.  It’s bigger than ever. I think the wet spring and cool start to summer have suited it, plus the fact that deer can’t climb so it’s free from molestation.  There are actually two roses in there, there is a double at the front but the one that’s going back is, I think Wedding Day. 

A whole peaceful day at home, I didn’t even go out in a car.  We ate some lovely things, artichokes from Mum’s garden which were delicious.  Dad planted them and so I thought of him at lunch, a lovely legacy.  Vik made fresh pesto which was delicious, and then I also made some gooseberry and elderflower sorbet from first principles, with some late flowering elder blossoms.  It was a Gordon Ramsay recipe and was lovely.  

After lunch I had a long FaceTime with Rory who is filming in Guadeloupe. Not surprisingly he is looking tanned and as it was a day off, relaxed.  Although he admits that there is quite a lot of burning the candle at both ends going on.  There was a sudden tropical rainstorm in the background as he sat on his terrace.  

I mainly planted, weeded and tidied up a bit.  Most of the day was cloudy but in the early evening the sun came out and I sat down, looked at the view with a glass of wine and enjoyed the fruits of my, and in the case of the rose, the previous generation’s labour.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.