There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Everybuggy Loves Echinacea

Hooray, the heat wave finally broke! We stopped at the Miles Hollow wetland to eat our takeout hoagies, go for a short walk, and relax in the shade and the pleasant breezes. As soon as we got there, I had to hop out to get a few shots of the echinacea, aka coneflower, near the sign that says:

Welcome to 
Galen & Nancy Dreibelbis 
Birding Area at the Soaring Eagle Wetlands.

There were bugs having a big bug party on those pretty pink posies, and I was there to document it. I tried to get as many bug shots as I could, for it's a bug's life after all, isn't it?

This bug is a beetle of some sort. I don't think it's a lightning bug though it resembles one. It almost seems to be waving at us: Ohai!

Hello and well met, little bug!

Our soundtrack song is Dire Straits, with The Bug.

P.S. Added later: I suspect this may be a margined leatherwing beetle, Chauliognathus marginatus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.