Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Daisies!

Today was another hot day, I think at 28C it is the hottest day of the year so far.

I decided to go to the National Trust property Polesden Lacey as I had seen on social media that there was a dense area of ox-eye daisies, and I wanted to see them. I first did a slow walk with Xena in the grounds/parklands, it was so hot that I took all the paths that were very shady. I saw so many lovely wild flowers and so many butterflies, but try as I might I was unable to get a decent shot of any butterfly as they are so skittish.

We ended up at the area planted with daisies, which was so beautiful to see - masses and masses of daisies. Then we went to the café where I enjoyed an iced coffee with oat milk and Xena drank so much water.

After lunch I had to go for that scan which is part of a 5 year (private) health check review. The radiologist was telling me that to his surprise Eastern European countries are very keen on preventative cancer scans, and so he has many patients who are from Eastern Europe whereas in the UK the NHS believe it is better economy to spend the funds treating patients with cancer rather than on regular preventative scanning, which he totally disagrees with. We do get preventative scans in the UK but not at such frequent intervals as most other Western countries. This was his opinion, I am not sure of the actual facts.

Gavin said that London is so busy at this time of year with summer tourists that he is finding it difficult to get around London to get to meetings. Taylor Swift fans can be thanked  - apparently her concert has contributed £300 million to London's economy with an extra 700,000 people coming to the city to attend them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.