Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Ladybird

Today was a scorcher. I tried to get out early to walk Xena before it got too hot but I got caught up doing laundry and a few chores, however we still got out by 9.15am. 

After her walk I headed off to my weekly golf session. We had a WhatsApp to say that today we would be playing the first couple of holes on the course with our coach and I always love those sessions, where it is a realistic experience rather than just being on the driving range. It was so hot! We only played two holes as it was a teaching session which took much longer with the five people in our group. After it ended the coach said we were welcome to carry on, so three of us did. I had to carry my bag as I did not bring my trolley, and in the heat it was difficult. The other two women are good players who play in weekly competitions for their respective golf clubs so I was a bit out of my depth but by some miracle I got a par on the first hole we played (a par 4) and then it went a bit pear shaped after that! Still it was a good experience and by the time we finished I was dripping hot, I could not wait to get a cold drink.

The optician phoned and asked if I could change my appointment to this afternoon, so after lunch I went off to have my annual check-up. This time last year I developed floaters in my right eye, and today she confirmed that I also have them in my left eye and the vision of my left eye has deteriorated so it means changing my lenses of my glasses. I have varifocals and reading glasses and the bill was eye watering - I have been going to the same optician for nearly 20 years but they are very expensive, I am considering changing - although I think they are all expensive around here.

My beautiful white Annabelle hydrangea flowers are just starting to bloom now, they are the gem in my summer garden. I found this ladybird on one of them today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.