carliewired

By carliewired

79 F/ 26 C

A grey start to the
morning with a bit of sun
and maybe showers

~carliewired

I peeked out my bedroom door about 4 AM to gauge the sky in the east. There was just a sliver of light under cloud so I returned to bed. I can't get too enthused if the weather is not promising. 

I backed the car out onto the cul de sac at 5:45 to discover the little flock of chukars were wandering about on the road. My motion scattered them, with two running up the steps of the house on the corner. I stopped and rolled the window down. They stopped on the stairs and looked back at me in their silly poses. I thanked them for the portraits and off I went.

I took the long way along the hillside, hoping I might find some big horn sheep. No luck there. I drove past the end of the airport runway to admire the metal sculpture against the hills. Work is continuing on the memorial site. I see sprinklers in action this morning. 

I stopped at Vantage Point to get a shot of my mountains and to walk a ways on the Rivers Trail. Just one dog owner ran past me. I noticed that the area had been mowed/weed wacked so the wild flowers have been lost for the most part. I did find a few including a look at some kind of pest that is using the sagebrush as a host. It appears as calcified lumps on the branches. I'd like to find out what that is. 

It was on to the grocery store and picking up some breakfast with coffee at my favourite drive-thru. I've about done in my feet for the day now.

My good news is I have an appointment with a foot doctor - for September 3rd! Also, I may have a plumber on the third try who could arrive today to assess the needs. 

Our trusty handyman should be back here with us today. Good fortune has smiled on me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.