Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

BROKEN GATE

I had an appointment this afternoon in Newcastle to go to an Our Future Health clinic..  I joined the project last year but until very recently there was no clinic in the area.  So I was pleased when  one opened up in Eldon Square shopping centre.  I was in and out very quickly - had my blood pressure taken, had my cholesterol checked, my height was measured and I was weighed.  Some blood was taken for testing.  I received a £10 voucher for volunteering.

 Our Future Health  is a research programme designed to discover new ways to prevent, detect and treat diseases.  It aims to recruit 5 million people who will donate health info to help future generations live in good health for longer.

Ive added an Extra of the clinic and also a photo I took when I was sitting on a bench outside the shopping centre.,  The weather was really warm and sunny and the sky was a beautiful blue with no clouds

Next I went to Tesco for some food shopping.  I needed to stock up on fresh food after my short break away and I bought salmon, salad and lots of fruit.

I caught the same bus home as fellow blipper Val.  (YellowBalloon).  We sat together and had a nice catch up .  She had been to The Hoppings.  Its Europe's largest funfair and it comes to The Town Moor in Newcastle every summer. 

Took my blip shot on my walk to catch the bus this afternoon.  The bus to Newcastle was running late so I walked to the next stop.  I passed a house where the broken  gate is lying in the garden.  The gate fell down at least a year ago and has been lying there ever since.  Its a very heavy gate with a metal postbox on the outside.  Its my entry for Wide Wednesday ... the theme is " broken ".  Thanks to RockArea for hosting.

Steps today - 7,542

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.