Groggster

By Groggster

The Ancient And The Gothic

Promises, promises - I stated a couple of weeks ago I would get up to date with my journal but I've failed miserably, I think I'm now further behind than I was before. I'm sure you've all been waiting for my next posts with bated breath or indeed been on tenterhooks! :-) I am going to try to catch up.
Today's image is as I'm sure you can work out a continuation of our Kent churchyard tour. The Ancient Parish Church (that's its actual name!) in East Farleigh is in a completely different style to that of its sister village of West Farleigh (see previous blip 09/06/2024) being on a much grander scale with spectacular views over the valley above which it sits. I tried to find out about the history of the church but nothing was forthcoming apart from the fact that there has been a church on this site since 961 AD.
Instead of concentrating on those aforementioned spectacular views, which seemed like a bit of an error on my part (I have tagged my brother's fabulous image of this below to make up for my views based inattentiveness), I saw that when I looked back towards the church the high early afternoon sun was throwing its looming presence into shadow and along with the swaying tall grass and dramatic looking clouds it gave the scene a determinedly gothic feel. Just as I was about to press the shutter my brother strolled into the frame. I was going to shout at him to get out the way but then realised his silhouette really added to the composition - always great to have a brother to hand when you need one, however inadvertently! :-)

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3249038977331627369

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.