Auguries

By McCaviti

Palace Electric

My daughter’s having friends over for her 19th so we were encouraged to have a date night! I didn’t like the look of anything on at Hoyts so I thought a self-styled French thriller (hubby is studying French) was the ticket. Let’s just say “A Silence”, was very well made but unsettling rather than thrilling, and definitely not date night material. I imagined the crowd of excited students running from the cinema had been on a French excursion. If so, I understand their enthusiasm at departing the cinema.

The cinema is called Palace Electruc, after Canberra’s early independent art house cinema from my youth (“Electric Shadows”. Now housed in a building shared with my former workplace (today was my last official day of work).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.