Appreciation

By Appreciation

As she sprayed the WD40 I wondered if they were trying to steal the boat~? I quickly dismissed that thought and replaced it with - exactly how old are his tools? They were so rusted - these mole grips were rusted shut and no amount of WD40 or hammering was helping them to move. Part of me wanted to stay and see what the ultimate goal was. If you had seen how hard it had been for this gentleman to get down on his knees in the first place, I was concerned as to how he would manage to get up. I was equally concerned that if he managed to carry out the task with the tools was he then going to climb down the shaky ladder and board the boat?

Perhaps I was doing them an injustice, but what I had witnessed didn't suggest anything too good could come of this venture.

My mother often attempts things which she is no longer capable of. Infact we have been having a bit of a battle these past few weeks where she is eager to try and I am eager she doesn't. The result is I leave full of guilt and she tries anyway after I have gone. She phones afterwards in an awful state and I worry more. WIll I learn from this? I doubt it.

Today, when I picked up a new shampoo which had a flat top that you push on one side and the other side flips up, my mother said

'don't buy that it's rubbish. I bought three months ago on offer and you can't get the top off. I have to untwist it and remove it completely everytime I use it. Then it doesn't come out so easily and you have to squeeze it and way too much comes out. It's a useless design.'

'don't you just flip the top open like this mother?' I enquired.

She laughed continuously in the shop, she laughed when she got home, she laughed when she went up to the bathroom to try it for herself, and she laughed when I left today. She tells me she won't tell her friends, as some things should be kept to yourself. I can't help but share though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.