Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Royal Portraits

This morning I went to London to meet a friend as we had tickets to visit the Royal Portraits exhibition at the King's Gallery at Buckingham Palace. The exhibition was fascinating, featuring royal photographs from the past 100 years - in one room there was a photo from 1923 and next to it one of King Charles taken in 2023. It was very interesting to see the changes in photographic style and techniques, and the exhibition surprisingly featured many female photographers, even from the early 1920's. There were many photos by the famous photographers like Cecil Beaton, Mario Testino, Annie Leibovitz (they were the best!) and Rankin (they were the worst!) No photography was allowed but I took this of the exhibition poster at the entrance.

From there we walked to a wonderful Italian restaurant for lunch - it was tiny and felt authentic so I risked having an asparagus risotto (as I make a rather good risotto I am quite fussy about ones served in a restaurant), and it was delicious! My friend and I chatted about the upcoming election and who to vote for, the failure of Brexit and as always, our children.

In extras I have a collage of some London scenes - the top two were taken from the platform at Vauxhall station, and the bottom two from the Victoria area. The last extra is my weak attempt at a homage to Martin Dawe who does some very clever street photography accompanied by some excellent titles - this one I have titled - 'we need to talk about the elephant in the room' - apologies to Martin, it is nowhere near as witty as his titles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.