Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Context

I was awake early, trying to plan the day. The hire car needs to be returned by 10 AM, but we don't get our car back until 6, so I had to weigh up whether to extend for a day. In the day, we both decided we just wanted to be rid of it, so we set out to do so.

Dropping off went more smoothly than collecting until the man did the scratches and dent check. He insisted there was a new scratch(!). Unbelievable. I had said at the start that there were so many scratches and dents, how could they possibly know when new ones appear? Nevertheless, the guy insisted it was new and then said he would try to waive the charge. He said a lot of other things too, but I can't write them all here!

I WISH I had the slip which showed all the marks or that I remembered that I took a picture before we set off on Saturday. Looking at it later, the scratch is clearly there. I got home and sent the image to the supervisor. I guess it goes without saying, we will never rent from Green Motion again.

The day passed happily with plenty to keep me occupied on the work front. We heard later that we won't be getting our car back today. ARGH. There were still some suspension-related noises during the last road test, so they want to fix that. Incredibly enough, they said they would deliver the car to G at school. Let's see how that goes.

Having no wheels in the evening, we walked along to our local hypermarket. G wanted colour pencils and we took the opportunity to have a good broggle at all the other things in the store.

My picture of the flame tree outside the living room is taken from the landing window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.