Marsupium Photography

By magi

45 years

Today, 45 years ago, Sony introduced the walkman. Although cassette tapes have been around much longer, since 1963. I can't remember when I had my first portable player. I do remember my last one which was a really swish metal AIWA one, barely larger than the cassette itself. I must have bought it in the early 90s when I was still at school. It got chucked out at some stage after it had lost too many tiny screws. I never got into portable CD players, they were too big, plasticy and always skipped. Also you didn't get any mixed CDs at stage. We still made mixed tapes in the 2002 to listen to in the kitchen. I've stopped listening to music when I am out and about. I prefer engaging with the environment with all my senses.

Otherwise a day of a zoom conference on AI in mental health. It was very interesting although there were a number of talks where I didn't understand a thing. Interestingly, the talk of a very distinguished professor was very accessible. I wonder if that is because when you are eminent you don't need to deal with any details. Tomorrow is the second part of the conference. I'll probably write down some thoughts then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.