The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

The Right Tools

Dear O'H dear, Lovely Tea Jenny and The Normals,

Biker Chick needs to remove all jewellery for an MRI scan next week but had a couple of earrings where the plastic backs had hardened and they were well and truly stuck.

I popped down to the local hardware store and was debating whether wire cutters or pliers were the best tool for the job.

A lovely assistant came over to as if I needed any help and I decided to chat through the situation and my dilemma. A problem shared and all that.

“I’m a bit worried that her ear might get torn if I try the pliers or that I’ll end up cutting her with the wire cutters,” I explained as she looked increasingly concerned.

She seemed reluctant to give advice (I suspect this fell out of her normal remit) and being the decisive creature I am, I bought both. As I was leaving the shop, I joked “I’ll try not to chop her ear off,” which didn’t even elicit a smile.

I went with the wire cutters and the earrings were out in two quick snips. Happily, Biker Chick was uninjured although I was very tempted to go back to the shop and ask the if they stored any suture kits!

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.