BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

Waiting

I’m waiting for the work on our car to be completed. It went in yesterday for its MOT and failed on the windscreen wipers but also needed brakes and suspension seen to, the latter not surprising given the potholes everywhere. It should be ready tomorrow. So a bus trip across town to collect it beckons.

I’m also waiting for the results tomorrow. I’ve already sent in my postal vote so will not be turning up at the polling station but will be a looking forward to the results with interest.

You cannot take photos in a polling station on election day but this afternoon I called into our church where the hall is used as a polling station. Everything was laid out ready for the big day and all the doors were securely locked so this was taken through the window.

In rooms and halls across the country voting will take place as the public exercise their right to vote for who will govern them. You can debate whether our system is better served by first past the post or some type of proportional representation ( a topic I suspect we’ll hear a lot more about). But the fact that we have the right to vote freely and without armed police patrolling is something we should value. Whatever one’s political views your vote should be cast.

PS. I’m also still waiting for summer: another grey cool wet day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.