Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Disaster. Nearly.

We had a walk to the park today. We have three big man-made lakes nearby, with cycle/jogging tracks all around. We spent ages watching three tiny cootlings and their parents. There was also a family of swans with six quite big cygnets.

After the lakes, we came to a park full of statues, a big lake, seating and picnic areas. We remembered the picnic lunch today. Bonus!

Still shocked at prices! I've given up trying to convert, but JR is obsessive. Our normal tipple in the UK, a bottle of NZ Sauvignon Blanc, was £10.50 a glass and £45 for the bottle! We stuck to a beer, which was £4.50 for a tumbler!! Just as well I've given up trying to convert.

This shot was taken in a bar that sold the expensive beer, and none of it Danish, for some reason. The chap, we noticed when he came in to sit by the bar, had the obligatory tattoos on his forearms, the entire hairy chest area, and down his sides. The young barmaid, when she put her arms up behind her head (for some reason) displayed tattoos on the inside of her upper arms. Tattoo spotting continues to be fairly easy.

While we were in the supermarket this morning, my camera, which was safely on my shoulder strap, screwed in to the tripod screwplate - as normal- suddenly dropped on the ground!!!! I nearly passed out! Disaster! Or at least it bloomin' could have been if it had dropped on the road. The auto focus wouldn't work for ages afterwards, but seems all right now. The connecting thingie just fell apart!! I hope I can find where I bought the strap and I will be complaining most vociferously! That was a lot of !!!! for one paragraph!!!

I had to borrow a shoulder bag from the house to carry the now-strapless camera. It was a well known upmarket brand.

At one point, in the park, by the lake, JR exclaimed, 'Mandarin Duck!'

I've never seen one of those, and I'd love to see one. So I shouted 'Where? Where?'

Actually, what she said was 'Mandarina Duck!' The well known upmarket brand of bag. Not so exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.