Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A blast from the past!

Off to the Eumundi Markets today. What a place! When we got there about 11.30, there were thousands of cars already parked in several fields. At $5 a car, somebody was making money! 

Fantastic stalls, especially the food ones. Every type of food, and marvellous smells. Good coffee, even in paper cups and plastic chairs! I had 10 wee tiny pancakes. I also had something I haven't had for decades... tapioca pudding!! I used to LOVE that at school. I haven't seen it since. Wonder why?

But there it was, with a charming chap (of course) eager to make it for me. I had paused, wavered, and swithered, and he moved in for the big sell. How could I resist? It was delicious, much better than school tapioca. Made with coconut milk, with added fruit and nuts. Needless to say, I could not manage lunch with the others shortly after this. Well, I could have, but it would have been quite greedy.

We also went to the Ginger Factory. The others did a tour of the factory, but I chose to have a walk round the rainforest that the factory folk had planted in 1990. I recognised lots of plants as being house plants in the UK! Just growing wild.

The scenery around here is interesting. Great motorway roads, with bush on either side of the road. You'd think there was nothing there, but now and again there would be a sign for a Steiner School, or a golf club, or a spa or plant shop. They are all hidden from the road.

Back home in the dark (5pm) via the bottle store. We were too late for the (BYO) sunset cruise on the river. We're  going to fire up the barbie tonight! I need to watch carefully to see how it's done, so I'd better post this before that starts!

My blip tonight is of the gorgeous tapioca man. Yum yum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.