MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Southport

The terrible state of Southport beach. What a mess. When I was a child and in fact when my own children were not all that young, the beach was a huge stretch of golden sand and I can't imagine why it has been allowed to deteriorate to this state.
The pier has been out of action for quite some time as well. 
Lord Street has many closed shops and was looking run-down in a lot of places.
Extra photo added simply for something nicer to see! The long strip of garden on Rotten Row in Southport is fabulous and this is just one of the shrubs there. The whole strip is looked after by volunteers called Friends of Rotten Row. It's a credit to them. In fact it is one of few things worth seeing in Southport!
Went on a geocaching trip with my friends, Margaret and Ian. The weather was atrocious. It was very cold, blowing a gale and when we had a rain shower it was sleety! Mid afternoon the sun came out and it was warmer but still the gale. I could barely get a brush or comb through my hair when I got home - ouch! We found all the caches but the walk was a good bit longer than we had anticipated. Consequently, I found I had done almost 19,000 steps. It's a good job Southport is fairly flat.
Today it's 27 years since Terry and I got together :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.