fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

The Lock / Return of the Minx

Back to work today and a cautious emergence from the world of digital detox. I decided not to return to starting my day with Wordle and Connections, and stuck with reading my book. I also decided I wouldn't wear my watch. 

I did, however, decide to try The Lock coffee shop, which I passed last night on our way back from Seven Bro7hers. I was especially pleased to see it opens at 0730. 

Not that I got there quite that early, but not much later, and I settled down at the breakfast bar by the window with my laptop and started to catch up with email, finance spreadsheets etc. 

I was about halfway down my second coffee when I received a message from the Minx asking if I could pop home to move my car for the guys who'd arrived to put up some scaffolding. In the unaccountable manner of scaffold companies, they hadn't arrived when they were supposed to last Thursday, but materialised today.

I asked the barista if I could put my coffee into a takeaway cup but instead he made me a new one! (From which I am inferring that it's his business.)

The scaffolding chaps were a friendly pair, who, it transpired, didn't need the car moved but I settled in and worked from home, anyway. 

At lunchtime, Abi and I drove over to Sheffield to unload all her belongings into her new house, which is very nice. There only four of them sharing this house and all girls, which is a relief to Abi.  

The Minx was travelling back from Glastonbury with her friends in their camper van, but they were only able to get off site, this afternoon. Thus it was just after nine when I went to pick her up from a Chinese takeaway in Swinton where Nicky and Dave were getting the dinner.

She was happy but, of course, tired and keen to get home and into the bath! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.