jennym999

By jennym999

Lots of wildflowers

Yesterday we went to the riverside recreation ground to take Libby for a walk plus go to the playground with the grandchildren. This year the ‘wild’ area by the river seems to have grown much higher than usual. We picked and ate a few blackberries and we collected one stem of as many different flowers as we could find. The twins stayed overnight and as I had kept the flowers in water we set about identifying them after breakfast. They were very good at looking in the various wildflower books we have, looking at the photos and also using the index. We had 15 different species, all but 2 I remembered from my childhood when I often collected and identified flowers. I think those did not grow in the Somerset area where I lived!

Another rainy day on and off. I popped to the allotment to spray the black fly on the runner beans but it started to rain..again. Then watched some tennis!

Posting early as we are off out soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.