KathyH58

By KathyH58

Tancook Island

A view of the harbor at Tancook Island today.  We had about 4 hours to explore the island. It is almost an hour ferry ride each way, it left Chester at 1 pm, arrived at Big Tancook Island at 2 pm, departed at 6 pm and arrived back in  Chester at 7.
It was a sunny day, hot at times, and a nice breeze at other times.
After we arrived, some of us started walking up a hill. A couple of the ones that I was with waved at some people sitting on a deck. A few minutes later the couple brought their golf cart to us and offered to take us on a tour of the island. The 4 of us hopped on and away we went. They took us to a craft store, then we stopped at a gallery and a beach. By that time a couple of the others had arrived at the beach, someone else had given them a ride. Two of us stayed at the beach with them, then we walked back to the ferry. It was about a 30 minute walk, but I did get distracted a couple of times, stopping to take photos. This tiny moth caught my eye, and he sat still long enough for some photos.  Then I spotted a deer standing in a yard, watching us walk by.
We sat on the upper deck of the ferry for both trips. My face is red tonight, wind burned from the ferry ride. LC(who I got to know on the PEI trip) and I were not sitting on the benches, we found a seat on the metal pieces that they wrap the ropes around. Coming home we were facing the wind.
It's nice to say that I have been there. I am not sure if I would go back again. Someone should have golf carts that people could rent to make it easier to get around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.