The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Troop Mobilisation

Dear O'H dear, Lovely Tea Jenny and The Eldest Mini Princess,

I was out at Mary Doll and Victor’s today and they asked about how things were going in The Youngest Mini Princess’s flat. I told them that the electrician will be in on Wednesday and I’m going to start painting at the end of next week.

MD and Victor were amazing when EMP got but MD said recently that she didn’t think they could manage to do it again. This isn’t exactly unreasonable as they are both in their late seventies!

“I could come in on Friday and help with the painting?” suggested Victor.

At this point Mary Doll’s FOMO kicked in, “And I could start the cleaning.”

I felt duty bound to remind them of the previous conversation.

“Thanks a million but you said you didn’t think you could manage to do it again which is absolutely fine. I have a lot of spare time at the moment so all good.”

Mary Doll disputed my recollection, “I didn’t say that.. it’s just that your Dad can’t go up and down ladders anymore, what with his knees, but you can do the edging while he rollers.”

I made another attempt to dissuade them but I was fighting a losing battle and was completely dismissed.

“And I’m ok going up and down ladders,” Mary Doll mumbled in the background, “it’s just your Dad that can’t. MY knees are fine.”

Found myself having to tell my mother that it’s not a competition!

I hope I can keep up with the septuagenarian workforce!

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.