Planet man adventures

By rowanhagdorn

Flood

A very cool exhibition in a very conservative museum. Jumped on my bike to get my museum pass. I wanted to look at a weaving exhibition. I loved the patterns and mix of materials. There were a variety of techniques on display in all sizes from small bags to huge walk through sculptures. There was a functionality to the objects that I found fascinating. A woven basket that looked like a wine carrier at first glance was actually for transporting shells. 

The flood exhibition was about periods. I was grateful to the museum guide who spotted me looking lost and pointed me in the right direction.  Menstruation was tackled from a variety of angles from tax on period products to transgender men who bleed. The demonisation of women and the stigma of menstrual blood were discussed. One of the things I read that stuck in my mind was that menstuating women were thought to cause milk to curdle, interrupt the brewing of beer and cause dough not to rise. 

The collage is of the pink pussy hat which people started knitting after the orange criminal made his disgusting statement. The book of tampons was in response to the 19% rate of tax on sanitary products, books were taxed at 7% so just make a book. The pants, tampons, mooncups ect were part of a display of products. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.