Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Exercise or photography?

I went out early this morning to do a short circular walk from Wark. It's one I've done lots of times, but not for a few weeks.

The wildflower population has completely changed. Summer flowers are fully out, with only a few still to open. I was delighted by the plumes of meadowsweet interspersed with valerian. 

My intention was to walk for fitness, but the camera took over. I dawdled and photographed........ just lovely.

It was hard to know what to show you, but my blip is common hogweed, taken from below. (Some people may worry, but this is not the giant hogweed which causes so many skin problems.) 

The extra is the blossom of a creeping thistle. Like dandelions these are often overlooked. There were even harebells on part of the walk, but too far away for me to capture with today's camera.

I can confidently say that the walk did not push my heart rate up into exercise level, but I had a good time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.