The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Calne (Thursday 18th July 2024)

On my way into the town centre I had a long chat with the lady in charge of this sign, which would be completed the following day. When she asked if I knew anything about Priestley, I was able to answer quite fully, thanks to the revision I had done for my last-but-one blip on Tuesday.

I knew he had lived in Priestley House on The Green because I had been friends with the family who lived there after I first moved to Calne and had been a visitor the house. I also knew of his laboratory at Bowood House from visits there when I had annual membership.

From the Green it is a short downhill walk along Horsebrook to the ford across the River Marden where bubbles in the water initially inspired his experiments that led to his discovery.There is a plaque a little further along the river at a section labelled Doctor's Pond in commemoration of his findings. Priestley had a pond (now infilled) where he used to extract methane, but for his experiments in 1774 he probably used the 17th Century lake at Bowood. I wrote about Doctor's Pond in a blip of a decade ago.

She told me where to find some flyers, an extract of which I have put in Extras.

L.
Friday 19.7.2024 (1322 hr)

Blip #4125 (#3875 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #003
Blips/Extras In 2024 #109/266 + #046/100 Extras
Day #5227 (1296 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3264 (#3103 + 160 in archived blips)

Calne series
Artwork series
Men At Work series

Taken with Nikon Coolpix P900 (24-2000mm equivalent bridge camera)

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Jorja Smith - Rose Rouge (2020)
Jorja Smith (vcl) with James Copus (tr), James Allsopp (ten sax, bar sax), James Rudolph Crewsick (d-bass), Femi Koleoso (dr)
A few weeks ago I posted French DJ St Germain's composition Rose Rouge, over which he had overlaid a sample from a live performance by Marlena Shaw. For the album Bluenote Re:imagined Jorja Smith has used a newly recorded version of the instrumental section created by St Germain and has sung the part originally created from Marlena Shaw's performance. I discovered this re-imagining from an Iggy Pop show.

One year ago:
Sells Green

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.