Birgit

By Birgit

Véloroute du vignobles

Our route is called Véloroute du vignobles. It is an ancient Roman road on the flanks of the hills. Lane on both sides of the road large vineyards. Winers ride on narrow tractors along the winery to prune the vins or to plow the intermediate path. To our left we have a view over the wide Rhineland, on the right the hills. Very high in the distance. 

I have problems with my gears. The lower do not work properly, so I have to get off the steep parts and push the bike up the hill. Bert has been able to fix it to the extent that the highest now no longer work, but the lower do. 

It is still very hot. It'll be about 30 degrees. We take a lot of breaks and drink a lot of water. I am surprised that the water pumps that we cycle past are not for drinking water. I buy a large bottle in a shop together with a liter of milk. Later we take iced coffee on a terrace. I don't like ice cream, it always gives me brainfreeze, but not today.

We cycle through very small villages that have the appearance of small towns. It is very beautiful here. Tomorrow we will cycle through Colmar. We've been there before. According to the description in our route booklet, it is one of the most beautiful towns in France. I'll judge that tomorrow too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.