Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Got the Grub

I'm going with an easy shot today with the male Eastern Bluebird getting ready to feed his brood a big, tasty grub.  I hadn't realized that I had not yet added this species to my 2024 Yard Birds List (click to view) so figured I'd take care of this oversight today.  This pair of bluebirds is extremely aggressive so they have not been easy to photograph.  Both will make contact with the top of my head when I check the nest box, so hanging out for pics is out of the question - too stressful for the birds, not to mention my head.

I had to cancel plans again today.  Poor Phoebe isn't doing well.  She is taking in a little water but only the tiniest amount of food in spite of us trying to tempt her will all kinds of things.  I don't know if she is going to bounce back this time - I hope so but am also trying to prepare myself in case she doesn't.  I would never change my decision to have pets but when the end gets close, it just rips my heart out every time.  You know what is coming but you can't stop it.  But on the other side, our pets have given us so much love and joy and companionship over the years (and continue to).  Anyone reading this who has had pets knows what I'm talking about.  I want to give a big thanks to KangaZu and Richard for being so understanding about the constantly changing plans, but mostly for their compassion and caring.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.