pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Holidays

Today is the second day of our holidays, as we finished work on Friday for 2 weeks. I can’t tell you how desperate I have been for that day. You won’t be surprised to hear lots isn’t right at work, and I need a long break from it and from some people in particular.

Friday evening turned out to be a lovely impromptu family time. Mollie arrived with her suitcase. Dan popped in, so I asked if he wanted to stay for pizza, and he said yes. Then Henry came in and as a family of 5 we sat in the garden and ate our home made pizza. It was just lovely all being together. Especially as it hadn’t been planned. Plus the weather, at last, was on our side.

The boys left - Henry dog sitting - and Mollie stayed. On Saturday we packed up the last few bits into the caravan and drove to Cambridge. We left our caravan on Karen and Neil’s drive in Girton and drove Mollie to Stansted airport. She has taken herself off on her own for 3 days of well earned R & R. First year of teaching complete!

Jon and I returned to Girton and spent a lovely afternoon and evening with our friends then slept in the van on the drive!

Today we were away by just after 9, heading up the A14, then M6, M42 and M5 south to Cornwall. We had a couple of stops and arrived at our site, a nice adult only campsite by 5. It took no time at all to set up, and Jon relaxed with a beer while I cooked a quorn jalfezi. It was very hot!

I did quite a lot of writing on the journey, and have spent the evening trying to finish a chapter. At last count I was on about 53,000 words, so have managed about 1500 today. Not too bad. I’d like to hit 60,000 while I’m away. That will be three quarters of the way through. It is getting tricky, but I’m confident my brain will come up with what I need when I need it to!

Feeling tired now so I’m going to put away my laptop for the day. Hoping for some nice weather - that’s anything except rain basically!! I’ll keep blipping if I can. It has been freeing not blipping, but I have the time, and feel positives and they are the ingredients I need!

So watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.