Nanou in Anjou

By nanou

I found it amusing to link this with my blip of yesterday.
This is a formal portrait of our paternal grandfather, not less formal than the one my sister posted the other day, but in a sportsman version.
He was an amateur racing cyclist, quite a good one according to my father, even a regional champion once and he ended number 5 in the famous race Paris-Roubaix, well known for its last hundred km of cobblestone coating.
Since the Tour de France is 100 this year, I was wondering what it looked like at the time this picture was taken, around 1913 certainly. My grandfather stopped all racing activities a few months later when he was sent to WW1 where he was severely wounded in 1918. Merci la France!

(sorry grandpa, I had to trim your hair a bit!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.