Grammy

By Grammy

As American as Apple Pie

Today’s forecast called for rain and thunderstorms so we planned a trip to town. Before we left, hubby watched a lightening bolt hit the ground out front. The rest of us heard it, frightening. We decided to let the storm pass before we left Sugar. She trembles during storms. We had reasons to go to town. I needed to return a couple items, my sister and BIL wanted to order and schedule delivery of their new decking materials and maybe purchase a new air conditioning unit for the Maryland home. We were semi successful. I bought some stocking stuffers for the men and hubby found a nice shirt. We were all craving a hamburger so we went to a “Cheddars” restaurant. Little did we know the burgers were 1/2 lb. I got a small salad; the others were happy with fries. We were stuffed and unanimously decided there’d be no other meal today. I forgot to get my blip until we were well into our meal. Of course, we had to stop and pick up another box of ice cream to go with the cake we brought from home. My sister and I love their new truck. We are so comfy in the back seat compared to how we were squeezed in their previous truck. We are back home, in our lounge wear and ready to pull out the Kindles and puzzle books. The storm is due to start again soon. Thankful for their home generator; the power is off as usual when it storms. I hope your day was successful. Be safe. Thanks for stopping by. “In time, foods such as hamburgers and ice cream became more than just meals. They became part of American history and culture, touchstones that are almost immediately nostalgic and sentimental no matter how old you are or what part of the country you are from.” - Homaro Cantu

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.