Bom

By Bom

Natural Surroundings

A sunny morning, so I thought I'd drive over to the gardens at Natural Surroundings in search of dragonflies. Unfortunately it was cloudy there, even though it's only a few miles away. So instead I concentrated on taking photos of flowers. After an early lunch I walked into town for a concert in the church, part of the Holt festival. I really enjoyed it. The second half was Piano Trio No.4 by Dvorak, for piano, violin and cello. I actually preferred the music in the first part by a composer I hadn't heard of before Frank Bridge, which consisted of 6 of his 12 miniatures, also for piano, violin and cello. I do like these one hour lunch concerts in the Holt Festival and it was well attended. Later in the afternoon I gave my car a much needed clean. 

Shocking figures in a report about violence against women and girls (VAWG), which includes domestic abuse, rape, sexual assault, stalking, and harassment. VAWG rose by c40% between 2018 and 2023. More than a million crimes against women or girls were recorded by police between 2022 and 2023. The report estimates that at least one in every 12 women will be a victim of VAWG crimes every year - that's more than two million. Deputy Chief Constable Maggie Blyth told Sky News 'The scale of the threat to women and girls in this country is enormous.' Why is this not creating more of an outcry? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.