madwill's world

By madwill

Gashouse Lane

This morning I accidentally walked to Wetherby!! I set off, intending to go for a couple of miles of then turn back…but I got a really good pace going (3.39 mph according to Strava) so I just carried on - walking the 4.5 miles all the way there.

I passed this blue plaque on the end of Gashouse Lane - which I was sort of aware of, but never really stopped to check it out - so today I took a snap for blip!! I have tried my best to straighten it up in Lightroom :-)

In case you can’t make it out, the inscription reads…

“Wetherby was once supplied with gas from works established in this lane in 1845. This building was once the Union Hotel, then renamed The Yorkshire Hussars after the cavalry stationed at Micklethwaite. For many years it was Hugh Hall’s Ironmongers.”

The gas works closed in the late 1970’s with the arrival of North Sea gas.

Anyway, I popped into the supermarket for a few bits and then caught the bus home.

Will the excitement ever end?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.