Kipsie

By Kipsie

One Spiky Thorn .......

..... coming up between the patio paving slabs is a novelty, a garden full a completely different matter so on spotting a fluffy seed drift into the lounge this morning when I opened the patio doors at breakfast time, it was time to act. SPIKY it definately lives up to it's name, painfully so. Gloves were needed to fell the beast which was approximately 5' tall. I cut all the flowering heads into a plastic carrier bag first, once contained I felled the remaining trunk of plant.
On the plot this morning I lifted the remaining carrots from my first sowing, pulled beetroot, & lifted a row of spuds. Pricked out the turnips, they probably won't make it as the roots are very fine but I'll give 'em a go. Watered & fed beans, (runner, French, & broad) with the chicken manure jollop now they are all flowering, & fruits forming. It was a tad chilly I must say. I left the carrier bag of Spiky thistle in the plot shed to deal with later.
Walked up to town to fetch the paper.
Drove to CK. Made breakfast for Mum. Walking Indie up the path a little later to cross the road she was alerted to simething in the undergrowth, I thought it was probably a squirrel. We exitted the path to cross the B3344 when a deer leapt into the road in front of a car, the car fortunately managed to brake just in the nick of time. It ran across the road leapt a low wire fence and headed onto the heath. I walked Indie up through the path to the old football pitch & there was the deer bouncing away through the bracken. A lucky escape for all.The first deer I've seen for a while.
Back at Mum's we got ourselves organised as we were going out in the car with Alison, one of Mum's near neighbours. She takes her unwanted "stuff" to a place called Proper Job Resource Centre on the edge of Chagford, & she knows I love a rummage so had been invited to accompany her on her next trip. A lovely drive alongside the Wray Valley, the roads are narrow most of the way lost of squeezing past, giving way, the odd reverse, which if you live in this neck of the woods you get used to it. It had everything, including some lovely old chairs, not beautifully made, but characterful. Good job I don't have room, for any more furniture. I did however buy a very plain glass vase (£1.50), Tony Hawks paperback (£2.00), a small bone china mug for hubby (£2.50), & a small china donkey that made Mum chuckle (£3).
We did'nt stop for a snack so when we returned I made lunch for Mum, & left her with a colouring in challenge.
Back home, made lunch for Mr Happy, discussed his ailments, as we do everyday, then he walked along to catch the bus up to town. I did some on-liine admin, & filled in the froms etc.to purchase more premium bonds for Mum. Posted the NS&I letter then nipped up the town to buy slug pellets. Argh! Andrew(Chudleigh Hardware) closes at 4.30pm. It was 4.50pm. Drat!
I drove up the plot ...scratched my head, had a brainwave. Spiky thorn, bet the slugs can't get past Spiky thorn if strategically placed. I've got everything crossed that it worked coz now (back blipping) it's raining, & slugs love the rain, & possibly my young french bean plants.
I made pork noodle soup for John, & a chickpea, sweet potato, & spinach massaman for myself. YUM! If you ever want to make an authentic Thai Massaman curry look out for Mae Ploy brand Massaman Curry paste. I found mine in a local Thai grocery shop next door to their little Thai cafe in Paignton.

Thanks to Isbi for hosting Tiny Tuesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.