curns' corner

By curns

Winning

This diary has been full of tales of the washing machine. Today, Hotpoint delivered a replacement machine. PY dealt with the arrival of the new and the removal of the old. It's funny how, when it's not working, it takes over life trying to arrange to fix it. We washed a load, and it seemed to work, and now I am no longer thinking about it. 

Also, today, I talked to a physiotherapist about my shoulder. This appointment was the one I discovered had been cancelled without ever having been made. I was glad to take the 15 minutes of the call. We discussed how the symptoms have morphed from sharp pains to a lack of movement, and they concluded that I had a frozen shoulder, which should be reviewed in person in a couple of weeks. Although the ultrasound scan results suggested this, it was good to hear somebody describe my symptoms clearly. It gave me confidence that we had diagnosed it. I don't know what the in-person session will be. Apparently, it's seminar-like with others with similar issues, followed up by a one-to-one consultation with a physio. Finally, I feel movement (of process, not of the arm).

At the end of the day, we walked up to The Alexandra in Wimbledon for the pub quiz. It's becoming a regular monthly thing. PY and I were there first and ordered. I went with the fish and chips. It was delicious and nicely out of the way before the quiz began. We felt we were doing OK on this quiz. There were about 15 teams. Prizes are awarded for first, second, and ninth. Again, we came joint ninth.

The last time this happened, we lost the tie-break by incorrectly guessing Erol Brown's age when he died. Today, we won the tie-break by correctly guessing Lionel Richie's age: he's 75. A round of drinks is already in the bank for next month's quiz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.