curns' corner

By curns

SAW

We took a couple of reasonable walks today, which I hope pushed my step count up. The first was to the big Tesco in New Malden for some shopping. The second, about 6:30 p.m., was across London from Waterloo to Piccadilly Circus and on to The Crazy Coqs.

It was Stock, Aitken and Waterman week in the cabaret space tonight. Think "Love in the First Degree", "Too Many Broken Hearts", "Respectable", "I Should Be So Lucky", "Toy Boy", and the 80s classic that's always included in these shows, "I'd Rather Jack".

Of course, it was a flashback to the late '80s when SAW ruled the charts. I was, and probably still am, a huge fan because the sound defined my youth. I vividly remember hearing everything from Divine to Bananarama and devouring it all. I listened to Jason Donovan's "Ten Good Reasons" a few weeks ago, which brought all those teenage emotions flooding back. 

As always, the singers at The Crazy Coqs are impressive. Most of the performers are too young to remember the songs they are singing, which reminds us how quickly time flies. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.