Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Wide Wednesday - Something Old

Another full-on day at the flat. Firstly, I switched off the fridge-freezer to defrost it prior to cleaning. It’s still sweltering in here so that’s helped, and as I write this a few hours later I’ve just heard a block of ice detach itself and fall with a thud into the drawer below. Made me jump!! There’s been further bagging up of stuff too. Three more big bags taken down to two charity shops at lunchtime, then a boot load of unwanted and unusable rubbish items to the tip at Amersham. I chucked things into pretty much all of their categories of skips, including metal, wood, glass and electrical! I’m quite hooked on the feeling of lightness and relief you get when throwing away the accumulated detritus of 40 years of home ownership. I’m taking a break now, at 6pm, to write my blip and then pop down to the supermarket to get something for dinner (no fridge to keep anything in!). The removal company packers will join me tomorrow morning, so I will clean through while they’re doing their thing.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday, with this week’s theme of “Something Old”. This is the White Hill Centre, as seen from the Waitrose car park down below. This wonderful old Victorian building, overlooking the whole of Chesham from the top of the vale, began life as White Hill School in 1890. It has been a community centre since 1976, thanks to a dedicated group of people who set up Chesham & District Community Association to run the facility. There are still some among the current members of the association who attended White Hill School before the building changed use. White Hill Centre provides facilities for recreation, leisure, education and social clubs for the benefit of Chesham and the neighbouring areas. Their focus is to encourage local residents to come to the Centre and reduce feelings of loneliness and isolation as, for some, their visit may be their only source of social contact. I was working long hours in London when I lived full-time in Chesham, and sadly never managed to visit the White Hill Centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.