Still Rockin'

By RockArea

1982

When I started my mental health nurse training in 1981 I was very poor (well, not that poor but I didn't have much money). Then in 1982 my father gave his three children £1000 each. I decided to use mine as a deposit to buy a studio apartment and as a result became a lot poorer as all the bills came in and the mortgage payments went out. I had an old TV but it packed up. My brother donated this cute little EKCO 9" portable black and white TV which was about ten years old then. 

As time went on I gradually got better off, I offered it back to my brother but he didn't seem to want it. Now 42 years later it sits in my study as a museum piece along with an original Roberts portable transistor radio. It's good to remember how things were when you didn't have any money.

The Wide on Wednesday challenge is hosted by BobsBlips and today the theme is 'Something Old' and as the rain has come in, I thought this might make a good blip. The TV doesn't work anymore so I've superimposed an image from 1982. I wonder if you remember who this man was? You probably won't stand any chance if you weren't living in the UK then. He appeared on our TVs in the early part of the year on most nights for just 74 days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.