This is the day

By wrencottage

Dad and daughter

I was delighted to spot not one, but two green woodpeckers on the lawn after lunch. Fortunately the camera with the long lens was close by (as it usually is) and I was able to grab it and take lots of shots through the window. From what I can tell, this is an adult male with a juvenile female. I had heard some strange calls yesterday from the nearby trees and thought they were birds giving a warning sound of a nearby predator but now I’m wondering if it was a green woodpecker’s ‘yaffle’.

As for the rest of the day, it’s been a really busy one, which I hope is a sign that my energy levels are returning. I’ve dead-headed, watered, washed, ironed, baked and practised on the piano, as well as going to mid-week communion. All in all, my watch seems quite pleased with me today! 

Smithers certainly is – he put on his ‘Mole’ pleading face this morning, asking if there would be cake, and, would you believe, two were in the oven in no time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.