Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

James making jam

Mr C went to pick up the boys and came back via the fruit farm where they picked strawberries. The farmer should have weighed the boys and not just the punnets.

They had got coin folders so were eager to classify and share out our old coins from all over the world. They were so happy for hours I managed to get the left front of the Shetland coat finished.

Then we to the village. Mr C let them play on the steppingstones while I dropped off some roses for Carol who is having a worrying time with Phil’s health. We had a hug and a chat then I met the boys at the bridge where they played in the river. James said he’d got rocks in his crocs. He nearly had more - they were behind one of the arches when a few people walked past Mr C and me. The boys came back agog. “They asked us to move as they wanted to put ashes in the river”. When we went round the group had gone but the ashes were a gloopy mess sticking to the sand right where children go to paddle.

We got them pizza from the Co-op for tea. Thomas had pepperoni and James ham and pineapple. They washed their hands very thoroughly!

James was saying he thinks he and his dad should have some bonding time as they’re not getting on very well. I asked what form this would take and he thought they should spend more time talking or playing games together. He thought going for a walk was a good way to do it.

After tea James and I made the jam. I’ve never made it before as my mum used to say it was difficult to set. I had no pectin so put in lemon juice. It set!

The boys go home after lunch tomorrow to give their mum time to pack as they get the ferry to Amsterdam in the evening as she was working today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.