simonsblips

By simonslife

Around the island.

The description sums up my day.
I woke up at 3:15 sore from a non existent mattress and a lumpy field. I decided straight away to search later for a mattress that would give me some comfort the following night. I was fortunate to hear Manx Shearwaters calling in the early hours.
I took a short walk to wake up my aching body and I climbed the lighthouse to watch the sunrise, unfortunately it decided to rise behind the thick bank of cloud!
After a hearty breakfast I set off on a clockwise tour of Lundy Island.
A tough day for anyone and no exception, I met some wonderful people although not many as there wasn’t a day sailing to the island from the mainland today.
Abundant bird life and stunning coastal views made it an inspiring experience. 7 hours later I arrived at the campsite simultaneously with the rain and wind.
I did manage to source some mattresses from the church where apparently the local marines sleep over when they are in the area.
A lovely shower before another self prepared supper consisting of mixed vegetables with black pudding, bacon, mushrooms and a creamy sauce to hold it all together.
A warm drink in the Island inn was enjoyed with some of the friends who I had met earlier. At 8 o clock a small group of us joined in the regular nature talk discussing the various wildlife we had seen during our various adventures earlier.
Rain and wind were still on the menu as I dashed back to my little tent across from the warm dry Marisco Tavern.
A few more views in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.